Jose Altuve Mike Trout
Jose Altuve #27 of the Houston Astros reacts prior to the 87th Annual MLB All-Star Game at PETCO Park on July 12, 2016 in San Diego, California. Harry How/Getty Images

The rosters for the 2018 MLB All-Star Game were announced Sunday night, and plenty of familiar names will represent the American League and National League. Jose Altuve and Mike Trout, who have won the last two AL MVP awards, will be in the starting lineup on July 17 at Nationals Park, while Bryce Harper is one of three former NL MVP winners that made the team.

Altuve was the league’s leading vote-getter, and he’s one of five players from the defending champion Houston Astros to make the team. Mookie Betts received more votes than any outfielder as one of the five Boston Red Sox to make the All-Star team. The Cleveland Indians will also have five representatives.

Aaron Judge is one of four New York Yankees on the team. The Atlanta Braves also have four All-Stars. The Braves and Chicago Cubs are the only two NL teams with multiple starters.

The rosters will change by the time the game is finally set to be played. It’s already known that Justin Verlander won’t compete in the contest because he’s scheduled to start the Sunday before the All-Star Game. In addition to other injury replacements, a player will be added to each roster with a final fan vote.

Let’s take a look at the complete rosters, including the starters and reserves, for the 2018 MLB All-Star Game.


Starting Lineup

C Wilson Ramos, Tampa Bay Rays

1B Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox

2B Jose Altuve, Houston Astros

3B Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Indians

SS Manny Machado, Baltimore Orioles

OF Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

OF Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

OF Aaron Judge, New York Yankees

DH J.D. Martinez


C Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals; 1B Mitch Moreland, Boston Red Sox; 2B Gleyber Torres, New York Yankees; 3B Alex Bregman, Houston Astros; SS Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians; OF Michael Brantley, Cleveland Indians; OF Shin-Soo Choo, Texas Rangers; OF Mitch Haniger, Seattle Mariners; OF George Springer, Houston Astros; DH Nelson Cruz, Seattle Mariners


SP Trevor Bauer, Cleveland Indians; SP Jose Berrios, Minnesota Twins; SP Gerrit Cole, Houston Astros,; SP J.A. Happ, Toronto Blue Jays; SP Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians; SP Chris Sale, Boston Red Sox; SP Luis Severino, New York Yankees; SP Justin Verlander, Houston Astros; RP Aroldis Chapman, New York Yankees; RP Edwin Diaz, Seattle Mariners; RP Joe Jimenez, Detroit Tigers; RP Craig Kimbrel, Boston Red Sox; RP Blake Treinen, Oakland Athletics

Final Vote

OF Andrew Benintendi, Boston Red Sox; OF Eddie Rosario, Minnesota Twins; OF Giancarlo Stanton, New York Yankees; SS Jean Segura, Seattle Mariners; SS Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels


Starting Lineup

C Willson Contreras, Chicago Cubs

1B Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

2B Javier Baez, Chicago Cubs

3B Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

SS Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants

OF Nick Markakis, Atlanta Braves

OF Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers

OF Bryce Harper. Washington Nationals


C Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants; C J.T. Realmuto, Miami Marlins; 1B Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks; 1B Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds; 2B Ozzie Albies, Atlanta Braves; 2B Scooter Gennett, Cincinnati Reds; 3B Eugenio Suarez, Cincinnati Reds; SS Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies; OF Charlie Blackmon, Colorado Rockies; OF Lorenzo Cain, Milwaukee Brewers; OF Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers


SP Patrick Corbin, Arizona Diamondbacks; SP Jacob deGrom, New York Mets; SP Mike Foltynewicz, Atlanta Braves; SP Jon Lester, Chicago Cubs; SP Miles Mikolas, St. Louis Cardinals; SP Aaron Nola, Philadelphia Phillies; SP Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals; RP Sean Doolittle, Washington Nationals; RP Josh Hader, Milwaukee Brewers; RP Brad Hand, San Diego Padres; RP Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers; RP Felipe Vazquez, Pittsburgh Pirates

Final Vote

1B Jesus Aguilar, Milwaukee Brewers; 1B Brandon Belt, San Francisco Giants; 3B Matt Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals; 1B Max Muncy, Los Angeles Dodgers; SS Trea Turner, Washington Nationals