• "Nomadland" named Best Picture by The Boston Society of Film Critics
  • Chloe Zhao named Best Director while "Nomadland" won in the Cinematography category
  • Anthony Hopkins adjudged Best Actor while Sidney Flanigan named Best Actress

Chloe Zhao's upcoming drama film "Nomadland" has kicked off the awards season with a scintillating Best Picture victory at the annual Boston Society of Film Critics awards.

The society, which comprises of 26 journalists and critics from the Boston City area, announced the winners on its official website and Twitter handle. In the best picture category, Kelly Reichardt's "First Cow" was named the runner-up.

Apart from winning the best picture accolade, Zhao also took home the Best Director prize during the event. This is Zhao's third victory for the highly-anticipated film. Earlier in the year, Zhao became the fifth female director to win the Golden Lion accolade at the Venice Film Festival while she created history by becoming the first female filmmaker to win the People's Choice Award at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF).

"Nomadland" stas Frances McDormand in the lead role and is considered to be the frontrunner at next year's Academy Awards.

In the acting fields, veteran actor Anthony Hopkins won the Best Actor award for his impecabble acting in "The Father" while Riz Ahmed was the runner-up in the same category for "Sound of Metal."

21-year-old Sidney Flanigan picked up the Best Actress award for "Never Rarely Sometimes Always" while Julia Garner was adjudged the runner-up in the category for "The Assistant."

Paul Rachi ("Sound of Metal") and Youn Yuh-jung ("Minari") emerged victorious in the Supporting Actor and Actress categories, respectively.

In the Best Ensemble category, it was "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom" that won the accolade while the star-cast of "Minari" was the runner-up.

Meanwhile, "La Llorona" was named the best non-english language film.

Here's the full list of winners:

Best Picture

Winner - "Nomadland" (Chloe Zhao)

Runner-up - "First Cow" (Kelly Reichardt)

Best Director

Winner - Chloe Zhao, "Nomadland"

Runner-up - Kelly Reichardt, "First Cow"

Best Actor

Winner - Anthony Hopkins, "The Father"

Runner-up - Riz Ahmed, "Sound of Metal"

Best Actress

Winner - Sidney Flanigan, "Never Rarely Sometimes Always"

Runner-up - Julia Garner, "The Assistant"

Best Supporting Actor

Winner - Paul Raci, "Sound of Metal"

Runner-up - Brian Dennehy, "Driveways"

Best Supporting Actress

Winner - Youn Yuh-jung, "Minari"

Runner-up - Amanda Seyfried, "Mank"

Best Screenplay

Winner - Charlie Kauffman, "I'm Thinking of Ending Things"

Runner-up - Kelly Reichardt and Jonathan Raymond, "First Cow"

Best Animated Film

Winner - "The Wolf House"

Runner-up - "Wolfwalkers"

Best Non-English Language Film

Winner - "La Llorona"

Best Cinematography

Winner - Joshua James Richards, "Nomadland"

Frances McDormand in a scene from the trailer of Chloe Zhao's "Nomadland" Photo by Searchlight Pictures/Nomadlandby