Alize Cornet
Alize Cornet lost her match against Johanna Larson. In this picture, Cornet of France prepares to hit a return against Angelique Kerber of Germany during day three of the Rogers Cup at IGA Stadium on Aug. 8, 2018 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images

It is just Day 3 of the 2018 US Open championships and the organizers have already been under the spotlight on more than one occasion.

Initially it was for their 10-minute heat break rule that was introduced at the start of the tournament, with most of the players unclear as to its availability or about the rules when the break was taken.

But the allegation of sexism was one that they had to respond swiftly to after Frenchwoman Alize Cornet was handed a code violation during her first round encounter with Johanna Larsson for changing her top on court midway through the match.

Cornet, who had just returned from the 10-minute break that is afforded to the women players prior to the start of the third set, realized she had worn her kit the wrong way around. And instead of going back to the locker room, she opted to do it on court which took all about 15 seconds.

However, despite the action being harmless, she was handed a code violation by chair umpire Christian Rask. But such a penalty has never been issued to male players, who change their t-shirts on court on a regular basis during the course of the season.

Djokovic for example was allowed to sit topless on court for several minutes during his first round match Tuesday. This action from the chair umpire drew severe criticism from various quarters especially British Women’s Fed Cup captain Judy Murray, and Australian tennis player Casey Dellacqua.

“Alize Cornet came back to court after 10 minute heat break. Had her fresh shirt on back to front. Changed at back of court. Got a code violation. Unsportsmanlike conduct..... But the men can change shirts on court,” Murray said via her official Twitter account.

The US Open organizers issued a swift apology to the player and made it clear such an incident will not occur in the future. They also confirmed the French player will not be assessed any fine for her action.

“All players can change their shirts when sitting in the player chair,” the USTA said in a statement. “We regret that a code violation was assessed to Ms Cornet yesterday. We have clarified the policy to ensure this will not happen moving forward. Fortunately, she was only assessed a warning with no further penalty or fine.”

They added female players will be allowed to use the restroom next to the court to change their outfit at any time during the game and will not be assessed as a bathroom break.

“Female players, if they choose, may also change their shirts in a more private location close to the court, when available. They will not be assessed a bathroom break in this circumstance,” the statement added.