It's described as the most exciting two minutes in sports.

Coverage of the 136th annual Kentucky Derby begins on Saturday, May 7th, at 4:00 pm eastern time on NBC. The coverage ends at 7:00 pm.

The race gets underway at about 6:24 at Churchill Downs, in Louisville, Kentucky, as it is the 11th of 13 races.

The bonus coverage begins at 3:30 p.m on NBC.

The race is two kilometers long, and includes 19 Thoroughbred horses. The first-place winner get $1.425 million.

This year's include:


Brilliant Speed

Twice the Appeal

Stay Thirsty

Decisive Moment

Pants on Fire

Dialed In

Derby Kitten


Master of Hounds


Mucho Macho Man


Midnight Interlude

Animal Kingdom


Uncle Mo


Watch Me Go