Democratic National Convention Schedule: Who's Speaking And When On Wednesday

By on

The Democratic Party's quadrennial nominating party is underway, and the days preceding President Obama's climactic acceptance speech are crammed with party luminaries and promising up-and-comers. After First Lady Michelle brought down the house on Tuesday night, here's a list of what lies ahead:



-Antonio Villaraigosa, chair of the Democratic National Convention Committee and mayor of Los Angeles, issues call to order

-Rep. Luis Gutierrez, Illinois

-Rep. Diane DeGette, Colorado

-Rep. John A. Perez, Speaker of California State Assembly

-Thomas Menino, Mayor of Boston

-Rep. Judy Chu, California

-Steve Westley, former State Controller and Chief Financial Officer of California 

-Rep. John Larson, Connecticut, Democratic Caucus Chair 

-Deputy Sheriff Ken Myers of Carroll County, Iowa


-Richard Trumka, president of the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

-Rep.Steve Israel, New York, chair of Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee

-Sen. Patty Murray, Washington, chair of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee

-Pedro R. Pierluisi, chair of National Community Mobilization for the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, non-voting member of the U.S. House of Representatives, Resident Commissioner of Puerto Rico

-Tom Steyer, co-founder of Advanced Energy Economy

-Sen. Charles E. Schumer, New York

-Members of the Congressional Black Caucus: Rep. Karen Bass, California; Rep. Al Green, Texas; Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, II, Missouri

-Governor Dannel Malloy, Connecticut


-Denise Juneau, Superintendent of the Montana Office of Public Instruction

-Rep. Nancy Pelosi, California, House Minority Leader

-Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack

-Senator Barbara Mikulsi, Maryland

-Education Secretary Arne Duncan

-Former Governor Jim Hunt, North Carolina

-Former Mayor Harvey B. Grantt, Charlotte


-Cecile Richards, President of Planned Parenthood Federation of America

-Rep. Steny Hoyer, Maryland, Parliamentarian of the 2012 Democratic National Committee Convention

-Rep. Barney Frank, Massachusetts, honorary chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee GLBT Council

-General Eric Shinseki

-Mayor Michael Nutter, Philadelphia

-Governor John Hickenlooper, Colorado

-Sister Simone CampbellExecutive Director of Roman Catholic Social Justice Organization, NETWORK

Governor Jack MarkellDelaware


-Karen Mills, Administrator of the Small Business Administration

-Attorney General Kamala D. Harris, California

-Benita Veliz, DREAM Act Activist

-Cristina SaraleguiJournalist, Actress, and Talk Show Host

-Sandra Fluke, Attorney and Women's Rights Activist

-Austin Ligon, co-founder and Former CEO of CarMax, Inc.

-Bob KingPresident of the International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW) 

-Randy Johnson, Cindy Hewitt, and David Foster, former employees at companies controlled by Romney's Bain Capital

-Rep. Chris Van Hollen, Maryland, former Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chair


-Jim Sinegal, co-founder and former CEO of Costco

-Elizabeth Warren, Massachusetts Senate candidate 

-President Bill Clinton, 42nd President of the United States


-Vice President Joe Biden and President Barack Obama; otherwise, the schedule has yet to be released

Join the Discussion