Uber responded Thursday to reports that the app tracks users’ location even when they hadn’t used the car service for days or even weeks, Techcrunch reported.

Uber’s website says the app only collects a users’ location information from when the trip is requested through five minutes after the trip ends, even when the app is in the background. However, when looking at their iPhone settings, customers realized that the ride-hailing app seemed to have just checked their location.

That realization made the company look like it was lying, but Uber defended its position saying the location tracking is not intentional behavior on the part of its app, according to Techcrunch.

Uber looked into the issue and found that the problem is linked to the iOS Maps extension, a feature that was launched in September.

“For people who choose to integrate ride sharing apps with iOS Maps, location data must be shared in order for you to request a ride inside the Maps app,” an Uber rep told Techcrunch. “Map extensions are disabled by default and you can choose to turn them on in your iOS settings.”

The way iOS is designed will make it hard for Uber customers to control their apps when it comes to privacy. Along with Uber, Lyft, OpenTable and Yelp are also linked to Apple Maps.

If you don’t want Uber to get you location data check your settings on your iOS device. Go to Settings > Maps > and then under Extensions, switch off off Uber.