Recognizing the impact of K-pop in the music industry, organizers of the American Music Awards have introduced a new category – the Favorite K-Pop Artist award.

Leading the roster for this category are two of K-pop's biggest names: BTS and Blackpink. Boy bands SEVENTEEN and TXT and girl group TWICE are also in the running for the trophy.

Previously, K-pop groups were nominated along with other American artists. This is the first time a category was dedicated to South Korean artists who were making waves on Billboard charts even prior to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Global sensation BTS made history at AMAs last year when it became the first Asian group to win the Artist of the Year award. The "Butter" singers also won in the Best Pop Group and Pop Song categories the same night. The septet won their first trophies at the AMAs under three categories in 2019: Favorite Duo or Group Pop/Rock, Favorite Social Artist and Tour of the Year. In 2020, the group won the Favorite Duo or Group Pop/Rock and Favorite Social Artist trophies. Last year, they also won in the Favorite Pop Song category for "Butter" and also the Favorite Pop Duo or Group award.

This year, the "Dynamite" singers are once again in the race for the Favorite Pop Duo or Group award, apart from their nomination in the Favorite K-Pop Artist category.

The award-giving body also introduced three other categories this year: "Favorite Afrobeats Artist", "Favorite Rock Song", and "Favorite Rock Album."

Leading this year's American Music Awards nominations is Bad Bunny who received eight nominations including Artist of the Year, Favorite Touring Artist, Favorite Music Video and Favorite Male Pop Artist.

On the other hand, Beyoncé was nominated in six categories: Artist of the Year, Favorite Female Pop Artist, Favorite Pop Album and Favorite Female R&B artist.

The singers nominated for the Artist of the Year title are Bad Bunny, Beyonce, Adele, Drake, Harry Styles, Taylor Swift and The Weeknd. Dove Cameron, Gayle Latto, Måneskin and Steve Lacy are competing for the New Artist of the Year trophy this year.

The awards show will be held on Nov. 20 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. People can vote for all categories, except the Favorite K-Pop Artist, through and Twitter. Voting for the Favorite K-Pop Artist category will begin on Nov. 1.

SEOUL, SOUTH KOREA - FEBRUARY 22: Girl group BLACKPINK attend the 6th Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards on February 22, 2017 in Seoul, South Korea. Han Myung-Gu/WireImage