• Suresh Raina announced international retirement in August
  • He is set to play in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, starting Jan. 10, 2021
  • Raina was arrested in Mumbai along with 33 other celebrities

Former Indian cricketer Suresh Raina was reportedly arrested in Mumbai on Tuesday after the police raided a party at the Mumbai Dragonfly club.

Raina, along with 33 other celebrities, was booked for violating COVID-19 rules after the arrests took place around 3 a.m. IST (4:30 p.m. ET), India Today reported. They were later released on bail.

Mumbai Police said the accused were booked under Section 188 (Disobedience to order duly promulgated by public servant), Section 269 (whoever unlawfully or negligently does any act which is, and which he knows or has reason to believe to be, likely to spread the infection of any disease dangerous to life), Section 34 (Acts done by several persons in furtherance of common intention) of IPC and provisions of NMDA, the report further stated.

The club was raided for staying open beyond the permissible time limit and breaching COVID-19 restrictions.

On Monday, the Maharashtra government had declared a night curfew in municipal corporation areas as a precautionary step amid the increasing concerns due to COVID- 19.

Raina, who announced his international retirement in August, along with MS Dhoni, is set to represent his home state of Uttar Pradesh in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s domestic T20 tournament that is tipped to begin on Jan. 10, next year. He earlier skipped the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 due to personal reasons.

The former Indian cricketer is also working to promote the sport for the youth in Jammu and Kashmir.

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina hit 110 in India's victory over Zimbabwe to close out the group phase. Reuters

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said that the domestic season in the country will mostly begin in January with the Syed Ali Trophy. The final will be played on Jan. 31, 2021, and the board will take a call on the Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy after the group stage of the T20 tournament.