• WWE released 10 NXT superstars last week, which included standout Dakota Kai
  • Kai was reportedly not seen as worthy of a main roster call-up
  • Roderick Strong has also requested for his release from the company

WWE once again surprised the pro wrestling world when the promotion announced a new round of budget cuts featuring some key talent from NXT 2.0, and the reason may be due to a new internal policy that was recently leaked.

Citing a report from Wrestling Observer Radio’s Dave Meltzer, Wrestling Inc noted that the company is only giving talent 90 days to show improvement lest they face the axe.

The full list of NXT superstars that were released is as follows:

  • Dakota Kai
  • Malcolm Bivens
  • Dexter Lumis
  • Paige Prinzivalli
  • Harland
  • Persia Pirotta
  • Samjana George
  • Draco Anthony
  • Mila Malani
  • Raelyn Divine

Dakota Kai being included was the biggest surprise of them all since her time at NXT was spent under the reign of then NXT chief Triple H.

As the pro wrestling outlet noted, Kai’s release was mainly due to the organization not envisioning her as a main roster-worthy talent.

Former NXT Women’s Champion Bayley even reacted to Kai’s release while also telling the story of how much she helped her during her time off due to injury.

Roderick Strong, serving as the leader of the Diamond Mine faction, has also asked for his release from the company multiple times over the past months and has been rejected by the company every single time.

WWE’s reason for having a 90-day rule for developing talent may seem unfair to most outside observers since the performer is going to be forced to hasten their learning curve.

But at the same time, it puts the onus on the performer to continuously get better and improve every single day as they vie for a featured spot on WWE programming.

It is a brutal reality that most NXT performers will have to deal with, but it is a part of the WWE’s mad dash to create stars from within.

Should the policy really be in place, more WWE superstars could see their names on the release list in the coming weeks.