British boy band One Direction turned out to be the biggest winners at the MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) Thursday night in Los Angeles grabbing three awards, nosing out big names like Rihanna.

One Direction that entered the U.S. pop scene just six months ago was formed in London in 2010. The members of the band include Niall Horan, Zayn Malik, Liam Payne, Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson, who were the contestants on the seventh series of the British version of TV singing contest "The X Factor."

On its road to victory, the band beat Justin Bieber and Rihanna for the best pop video and another all-boy British band "The Wanted" for the best new artists.

The band also won the Most Share-Worthy Video award for their debut hit single "What Makes You Beautiful." The band performed another hit single "One Thing" at the two-hour-long Los Angeles music extravaganza, Reuters reported.

"To win one Moonman is amazing, to win two is incredible," said Harry Styles, as the band collected the silver VMA trophy for best new artists.

"Thank you so much! We have grown up watching this show and to collect one of these straight away is incredible," said a jubilant Niall Horan.

After the British boy band won three awards at the MTV VMAs 2012, "3 VMAs" started trending on Twitter as fans all around the world flooded the social networking site with hordes of tweets, congratulating the band.

"Guys what the hell! You are incredible, 3 vmas ! We love u all soo much! All 3 of them are for u! Thank you!", Niall Horan tweeted.

"Get nominated for 3 VMAs, win them all. They totally deserve it!", Logan Ducharme tweeted.

"3 VMAs im soooo proud of our boys they did so good i cant believe they got three VMAs i love them so muych so proud," Shannon Styles xox tweeted.

"3rd on xfactor, released 3 singles, won 3/3 VMAs. 3 is officially the lucky number of this fandom," Izzie Horan tweeted.

Thursday night's show ended with a stunning performance by country-pop singer Taylor Swift on her best-selling single "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together."

Take a look at the full list of winners below:

Video of the Year - Rihanna, featuring Calvin Harris, "We Found Love"

New Artist - One Direction

Pop video - One Direction "What Makes You Beautiful"

Rock video - Coldplay "Paradise"

Hip-hop video - Drake, featuring Lil Wayne, "HYFR"

Female video - Nicki Minaj "Starships"

Male video - Chris Brown "Turn Up the Music"

Electronic Dance Music video - Calvin Harris "Feel So Close"

Share-worthy video - One Direction "What Makes You Beautiful"

Video with a message - Demi Lovato "Skyscraper"

Choreography - Chris Brown "Turn Up The Music"

Editing - Beyonce "Countdown"

Visual effects - Skrillex "First of the Year"

Cinematography - M.I.A. "Bad Girls"

Art direction - Katy Perry "Wide Awake"

Direction - M.I.A. "Bad Girls"