Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal will compete in the 2011 US Open. Reuters

With Wimbledon in the rearview mirror, the next Grand Slam tennis tournament awaits.

After the red clay of the French Open, the grass at Wimbledon, the next tournament shifts to the hardcourt when the U.S. Open gets underway in late August.

Played at Flushing Meadows in Queens, New York, the U.S. Open will begin on Monday, August 29, at 11:00 a.m. Eastern time, as First Round gets stared for the two week tournament.

The Women's Final will be played on Saturday, September 10th, while the Men's Finals will take place on Sunday, September 11th, at Arthur Ashe Stadium.

In the U.S., television coverage will be shown on CBS, ESPN, ESPN2 and The Tennis Channel, and will be shown on TSN in Canada. Sky Sports will provide coverage in the UK, and will be shown on FOX Sports in Australia.

Rafael Nadal will try to repeat as Men's champion after defeating Novak Djokovic in four sets in the 2010 Final, while Kim Clijsters will defend her Women's title after breezing past Vera Zvonareva.

The tournament dates back to 1881.