The weather is getting colder, which means spending less time outside and more time on the couch watching your favorite shows. Those preparing for hibernation are in luck, as more than 40 TV shows — some new and some returning — are coming to a television set near you this October.

Fall is a notoriously good time for TV and while most shows return in September, there are plenty of new shows and seasons to tune into this October. “Shameless,” “The Flash,” “2 Broke Girls,” and “The Middle” are just a few of the popular shows airing new seasons starting Oct. 2.

Those looking to start something new will also have plenty of options. HBO’s highly anticipated new original shows “Westworld,” “Insecure” and “Divorce” will debut in October along with several new shows across other networks. NBC’s “Timeless,” ABC’s “American Housewife” and more have also been given premiere dates this month.

Below is a full list of shows to watch in October 2016:

Sunday, Oct. 2:

  • “America’s Funniest Home Videos” Season 27 — ABC, 7 p.m. EDT
  • Westworld” series premiere — HBO, 9 p.m. EDT
  • “Madam Secretary” Season 3 — CBS, 9 p.m. EDT
  • “Shameless” Season 7 — Showtime, 9 p.m. EDT
  • “Elementary” Season 5 — CBS, 10 p.m. EDT

Monday, Oct. 3:

  • “Scorpion” Season 3 — CBS, 9 p.m. EDT
  • “Conviction” series premiere — ABC, 10 p.m. EDT
  • “Timeless” series premiere — NBC, 10 p.m. EDT

Tuesday, Oct. 4:

  • “The Mindy Project” Season 5 — HULU
  • The Flash” Season 2 — 8 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • “No Tomorrow” series premiere — 9 p.m. EDT, The CW

Wednesday, Oct. 5:

  • Arrow” Season 5 — 8 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • “Frequency” series premiere — 9 p.m. EDT, The CW

Sunday, Oct. 9:

  • “Divorce” series premiere — 10 p.m. EDT, HBO
  • “Insecure” series premiere — 10:30 p.m. EDT, HBO

Monday, Oct. 10:

  • “Supergirl” Season 2 — 8 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • “2 Broke Girls” Season 6 — 9 p.m. EDT, CBS

Tuesday, Oct. 11:

  • “The Middle” Season 8 — 8 p.m. EDT, ABC
  • “American Housewife” series premiere — 8:30 p.m. EDT, ABC
  • “Fresh Off the Boat” Season 3 — 9 p.m. EDT, ABC
  • “The Real O’Neals” series premiere— 9:30 p.m. EDT, ABC
  • “Chicago Fire” Season 5 — 10 p.m. EDT, NBC

Thursday, Oct. 13:

  • “Legends of Tomorrow” Season 2 — 8 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • Supernatural” Season 12 — 9 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • “Falling Water” series premiere — 10 p.m. EDT, USA

Friday, Oct. 14:

  • “Haters Back Off” series premiere — 12:01 a.m. PDT, Netflix

Monday, Oct. 17:

  • “Hamilton’s America” — 8 p.m. EDT, PBS
  • “Jane the Virgin” Season 3 — 9 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • “The Odd Couple” Season 3 — 9:30 p.m. EDT, CBS

Wednesday, Oct. 19:

  • “Chance” series premiere — HULU

Thursday, Oct. 20:

Friday, Oct. 21:

  • “The Vampire Diaries” Season 8 — 8 p.m. EDT, The CW
  • “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend” Season 2 — 9 p.m. EDT, The CW

Sunday, Oct. 23:

  • The Walking Dead” Season 7 — 9 p.m. EDT, AMC
  • “The Talking Dead” Season 7 — 10 p.m. EDT, AMC
  • “Comic Book Men” Season 6 — 12 a.m. EDT, AMC

Monday, Oct. 24:

  • “Man With a Plan” series premiere — 8:30 p.m. EDT, CBS

Wednesday, Oct. 26:

  • “Rectify” Season 4 — 10 p.m. EDT, Sundance

Thursday, Oct. 27:

  • “The Big Bang Theory” Season 9 — 8 p.m. EDT, CBS (New night)
  • “The Great Indoors” series premiere — 8:30 p.m. EDT, CBS
  • “Mom” Season 4 — 9 p.m. EDT, CBS
  • “Life in Pieces” Season 2 — 9:30 p.m. EDT, CBS
  • “Pure Genius” series premiere — 10 p.m. EDT, CBS

Saturday, Oct. 29:

  • “The Fall” Season 3 — Netflix

Monday, Oct. 31:

  • “People of Earth” series premiere — 9 p.m. EDT, TBS

“The Walking Dead” Tune in to “The Walking Dead” on Oct. 23 to find out once and for all who Negan (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) killed in Season 6. Photo: AMC