Washington and Hollywood converged Saturday night for the 2013 White House Correspondents' Dinner, an annual gathering attended by celebrities and politicos.

Held by the White House Correspondents' Association, the tradition began in the 1920’s as a way for politicians and reporters to mix and mingle. The annual event nowadays is full of glitz and glam, with afterparties, brunches and heaps of fashion. Over the past four years, it has informally been nicknamed: the “nerd prom.”

Policy bigwigs such as former House Speaker Newt Gingrich, New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg and MSNBC host Chris Matthews rubbed elbows with Conan O’Brien, Kerry Washington, Claire Danes, Anna Wintour, Vogue's editor-in-chief and Obama champion, Katy Perry and Sofia Vergara.

Awards were handed out to six journalists for their work covering national issues and the presidency. The New Yorker's Ryan Lizza won the Aldo Beckman Award, White House Correspondent Julie Pace won the Merriman Smith Award, ABC's Terry Moran won the broadcast Merriman Smith Award and Center for Public Integrity reporters Jim Morris, Chris Hamby and Ronnie Greene won the Edgar A. Poe Award.

View the slideshow to see photos of the red carpet arrivals and more pictures from the event at the 2013 White House Correspondents Dinner.