The Beastie Boys will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, along with Guns N' Roses and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, according to organizers.

The 2012 induction will be held on April 14. It will be the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's 27th annual induction ceremony. HBO will broadcast the event in May.

We are pleased to announce this year's Hall of Fame inductees, who represent the broad spectrum of artists that define rock 'n' roll, said Joel Peresman, president and chief executive officer of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, in a statement. We are also thrilled this year to again be partnered with HBO, who presented the Hall of Fame's 25th anniversary concerts.

A hip hop trio from Brooklyn, the Beastie Boys members include Mike D, or Michael Diamond, MCA, or Adam Yauch, and Ad-Rock, or Adam Horovitz. The band formed in 1979, originally as a hardcore punk band.