nadal djokovic
Nadal (left) and Djokovic have the same odds of winning the French Open. Reuters

No tennis player has dominated the French Open like Rafael Nadal, but last year’s champ is no longer the sole favorite to win the tournament in 2015. Having failed to play like his old self through the first three months of 2015, his betting odds are now equal to that of Novak Djokovic.

Nadal had been the favorite for months, having won the French Open in nine of the last 10 years. His only loss came in 2009 when he lost in the fourth round to Robin Soderling, the eventual runner-up to Roger Federer. But despite Nadal’s dominance on clay, he hasn’t been nearly as good as Djokovic this year, giving the world’s No.1 player an equal chance to win the championship.

The best clay-court player of all-time might return to form once he starts playing on his favorite surface, but his struggles on grass and hard courts are difficult to ignore. Nadal has won just a single tournament in the last 10 months, and he continues to lose to players that aren’t ranked in the top 20.

Djokovic most recently reached the semifinal of the Miami Open, where Nadal was bounced in the third round by No.34 Fernando Verdasco. Djokovic defeated Andy Murray in the finals of the 2015 Australian Open to win the year’s first Grand Slam tournament, and he most recently beat Federer to capture the title at Indian Wells.

After Djokovic and Nadal, Stan Wawrinka has the best odds to win the French Open. Wawrinka, along with Marin Cilic, are the only two players outside of tennis’ "Big Four" that have won a Grand Slam championship since 2010. Cilic’s 50/1 odds tie him for 11th overall.

Kei Nishikori and Federer are tied for the fourth-best odds, followed by Andy Murray. The Brit will face Djokovic in the finals of the Miami Open on Sunday, looking for revenge after Djokovic topped him in the final match of this year’s Australian Open.

Below are the complete 2015 French Open betting odds for the tournament’s top competitors, courtesy of

Novak Djokovic 3/2

Rafael Nadal 3/2

Stan Wawrinka 16/1

Kei Nishikori 18/1

Roger Federer 18/1

Andy Murray 22/1

Juan Martin Del Potro 22/1

David Ferrer 33/1

Tomas Berdych 33/1

Grigor Dimitrov 40/1

Marin Cilic 50/1

Milos Raonic 50/1

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 66/1

Ernests Gulbis 80/1

Nicolas Almagro 80/1

Fabio Fognini 100/1

Gael Monfils 100/1