On Friday, Amazon Prime Video released Season 1 of its new superhero series, “The Boys,” based on the comic of the same name by Garth Ennis and Darick Robertson, and it features a super-powered cast of actors.

Developed by showrunner/executive producer/writer Eric Kripke, who created “Supernatural” and co-created “Timeless,” this new action-comedy show sees what happens when a group of people gets tired of how much power and influence superheroes have in the world.

“When Hughie (Jack Quaid, “The Hunger Games”) suffers a devastating loss at the hands of a reckless Supe his devastation turns to outrage when he discovers there is no legal recourse for victims of collateral superhero damage,” the synopsis explains. “While still reeling from his trauma Hughie meets a mysterious operative, Billy Butcher (Karl Urban, “Star Trek”), who recruits him to join in his pursuit of some vigilante justice against the Supes—who are not exactly what they seem.”

The synopsis continues: “It’s the powerless against the super powerful as The Boys embark on a heroic quest to expose the truth about The Seven, and Vought – the multi-billion dollar conglomerate that manages these superheroes and covers up all of their dirty secrets.”

Chace Crawford the boys amazon
Chace Crawford as The Deep on Amazon’s “The Boys.” Amazon / Jan Thijs

Along with Billy Butcher and Hughie, The Boys also include Frenchie (Tomer Capon, “When Heroes Fly”), Mother’s Milk (Laz Alonso, “L.A.’s Finest”) and The Female (Karen Fukuhara, “Suicide Squad”).

Meanwhile, The Supes making up The Seven, the group The Boys are trying to take down, include Homelander (Antony Starr, “Banshee”), Queen Maeve (Dominique McElligott, “Hell on Wheels”), The Deep (Chace Crawford, “Gossip Girl”), A-Train (Jessie T. Usher, “Shaft”), Starlight (Erin Moriarty, “Jessica Jones”) and Black Noir (Nathan Mitchell, “Supernatural”).

Viewers will also catch Elisabeth Shue (“Leaving Las Vegas”) as Madelyn Stillwell, Vought’s Senior VP of Hero Management, and Jennifer Esposito (“Blue Bloods”) as CIA Agent Susan Raynor.

Aside from Kripke, “The Boys” is also executive produced by Point Grey Pictures’ Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg and James Weaver, Original Film’s Neal H. Moritz, Pavun Shetty and Ori Marmur, as well as Ken Levin and Jason Netter. The original comic’s creators, Ennis and Robertson, also co-executive produce.

The eight-episode Season 1 of “The Boys” is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video.