Aaron Rodgers (center) shakes hands with Tom Brady (right) after a game in November 2014. Getty

Over the past 10 years, quarterbacks have dominated the NFL's Most Valuable Player award, as running back Adrian Peterson has been the lone exception to win the award. The MVP honors have gone to five quarterbacks since 2007: Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, Aaron Rodgers, Cam Newton and Matt Ryan.

The quarterback trend will likely continue into the upcoming season, according to betting odds site Oddschecker. Seven of the top eight MVP contenders are quarterbacks and the names are familiar.

Brady, seeking his third MVP, has the best odds to win the award. According to betting site Betway, the 40-year-old is a 4-to-1 favorite. The New England Patriots, meanwhile, are the top favorites to win the Super Bowl (11/4).

Rodgers, who led the league in touchdown passes (40) in 2016, follows Brady with the second-best odds (15/2). The Green Bay Packers star last won the MVP in 2014.

Dak Prescott, coming off an impressive rookie season, is No. 3 in the MVP odds at 8/1. Last year, the Dallas Cowboys quarterback battled his own teammate, running back Ezekiel Elliott, for both MVP honors and Offensive Rookie of the Year honors. Prescott won the Rookie of the Year but finished behind Elliott in MVP voting.

There is a bit of drop-off after Brady, Rodgers and Prescott.

Ryan, last year's MVP, has 10/1 odds. The Atlanta Falcons quarterback had a career year when he edged the field in a close contest, finishing with 24 votes compared to Brady (20 votes), Rodgers (14 votes), Elliott (9 votes) and Le'Veon Bell (8 votes).

Elliott and Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson are both listed at 12/1, while quarterbacks Derek Carr and Ben Roethlisberger are both 14/1. Running backs David Johnson (16/1) and Bell (18/1) are also in the mix.

The rest of the group are bigger longshots. The Falcons' Julio Jones (28/1) has the best odds among wide receivers. No defensive player or special teams player is listed among the top 20.

MVP Betting Odds (Betway)

Tom Brady, 4/1

Aaron Rodgers, 15/2

Dak Prescott, 8/1

Matt Ryan, 10/1

Ezekiel Elliott, 12/1

Russell Wilson, 12/1

Derek Carr, 14/1

Ben Roethlisberger, 14/1

David Johnson, 16/1

Le’Veon Bell, 18/1

Cam Newton 22/1

Julio Jones, 28/1

Andrew Luck, 28/1

Sam Bradford, 33/1

Drew Brees, 33/1

Antonio Brown, 33/1

Carson Palmer, 33/1

Alex Smith, 33/1

Trevor Siemian, 33/1

Jameis Winston, 33/1