• Robert Lewandowski scored 57 goals last season for his club and country
  • Lewandowski finished 4th in the Ballon d'Or list
  • Erling Haaland bagged 10th place in the list

FC Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski is not fazed by Erling Haaland's goal-scoring exploits.

Lewandowski won the first-ever Gerd Muller Trophy at the Ballon d'Or awards Monday. The trophy is given to the top scorer of the season and the Polish playmaker won the award for scoring 57 goals in 56 games for the club and country.

When Lewandowski was asked if Haaland would beat him for the award next season, the former Bayern Munich striker replied that he was up for the challenge from the young Manchester City man.

"The season is very long. For me, it's also a new chapter with Barcelona and since the first day, I am feeling very well in this club. I can see it is there for me, the big challenge. I feel very well, I see that with my teammates that we have such big potential," Lewandowski said Monday, according to

Regarding the new competition from Haaland, Lewandowski said, "I have the opportunity to score a lot of goals and I am sure that all together we are working on this. This is football. You have to be always ready. I know that the new competition is also coming but still, but I am still here and I didn't say my final word yet."

Haaland made a sensational move from Borussia Dortmund to Manchester City this summer, while Lewandowski switched from Bayern Munich to Barcelona. In no time, both players have settled in their new respective clubs.

Robert Lewandowski ended up on the losing side on his return to Munich with Barcelona
Robert Lewandowski won the newly-created Gerd Muller trophy at Ballon d'Or 2022

In 13 games this season, Lewandowski has netted 14 goals and provided three assists for Barcelona. Haaland is way ahead this season, having scored 20 goals and three assists in 14 competitive matches for Manchester City.

In the list of Ballon d'Or, Lewandowski finished fourth and Haaland at 10th, with Real Madrid's forward Karim Benzema winning the prestigious award presented by France Football.

Benzema was the first French player to win the award since Zinedine Zidane in 1998. His former Real Madrid boss was at the event to present his countryman with the prize.

Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane, who won two trophies with Liverpool FC last season and an AFCON title with Senegal earlier this year, finished second in the Ballon d'Or list ahead of Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne.