• Sam Mendes's "1917" won Best Picture at the Hollywood Critics Association Awards
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Lupita Nyong'O adjudged Best Actors 
  • Anton Yelchin was given the Acting Achievement Award posthumously

The awards season is in full-swing and as the day for the Academy Awards is approaching, every critics association and film societies are handing out trophies to highlight last year’s best work. The Hollywood Critics Association (HCA) announced the winners of the 2020 HCA Awards recently and it was Sam Mendes’s war-epic “1917” that won the night’s biggest prize.

According to the organization, the movie was named Best Picture and also took home three more awards during the star-studded ceremony. The film won the trophy for Best Action/War movie, Cinematography and Editing.

“1917” was also adjudged Best Film of 2019 at the Golden Globes earlier this month. But the movie lost out to Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” at the Critics’ Choice Awards.

“1917” has received 10 nominations at the Academy Awards, including Best Picture and a Directing nod for Mendes.

In the Best Director categories, Olivia Wilden was given the trophy for Best Female Director for her movie “Booksmart” while Noah Baumbach was named Best Male Director for “Marriage Story.” Baumbach’s take on a couple going through a divorce accumulated six nods at the 2020 Oscars.

Joaquin Phoenix took home the trophy for Best Actor in a Leading Role for his portrayal of the diabolical clown in the movie “Joker.” This is the third major acting award for Phoenix this year. He won in the same category at the Golden Globes and Critics’ Choice Awards. The actor could get a chance to get his hands on the Oscar trophy, too, since he has been nominated at the Academy Awards.

In the Leading Actress category, Lupita Nyong’O won the trophy for her stellar work in the movie “Us.”

Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”) and Jennifer Lopez (“Hustlers”) were awarded with Best Supporting Actor awards in their respective categories.

South Korea’s blockbuster hit “Parasite” won three awards during the ceremony. The movie won Best Foreign-Language Film, Original Screenplay and a special award for director Bong Joon-Ho.

On the other hand, a special award was given to Anton Yelchin posthumously for his contribution to cinema. He died at the age of 27 in 2016.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Picture


Best Actor

Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker”

Best Actress

Lupita Nyong’o, “Us”

Best Supporting Actor

Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”

Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lopez, “Hustlers”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Taika Waititi, “Jojo Rabbit”

Best Original Screenplay

Han Jin-won and Bong Joon-ho, “Parasite”

Best Male Director

Noah Baumbach, “Marriage Story”

Best Female Director

Olivia Wilde, “Booksmart”

Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under

Noah Jupe, “Honey Boy”

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under

Kaitlyn Dever, “Booksmart”

Breakthrough Performance Actor

Kelvin Harrison Jr, “Waves”

Breakthrough Performance Actress

Jessie Buckley, “Wild Rose”

Best Cast Ensemble

“Knives Out”

Best First Feature

“Honey Boy”

Best Independent Film (Tie)

“The Farewell”


Best Action/War Film


Best Animated Film

“Toy Story 4”

Best Blockbuster

“Avengers: Endgame”

Best Comedy/Musical (Tie)



Best Documentary

“Apollo 11”

Best Foreign Language Film


Best Horror


Best Animated or VFX Performance

Rosa Salazar, “Alita: Battle Angel”

Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins, “1917”

Best Costume Design

Julian Day, “Rocketman”

Best Editing

Lee Smith, “1917”

Best Hair and Makeup

Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, and Vivian Baker, “Bombshell”

Best Original Song

Glasgow, “Wild Rose”

Best Score

Hildur Guðnadóttir, “Joker”

Best Stunt Work

“John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum”

Best Visual Effects

Dan Deleeuw, Matt Aitken, Russell Earl, and Dan Sudick, “Avengers: Endgame”

2020 Hollywood Critics Association Honorary Awards

Actor Achievement Award

Anton Yelchin

Filmmaker Achievement Award

Bong-Joon Ho

Artisans Achievement Award

Ruth E. Carter

Game Changer Award

Paul Walter Hauser

Star on the Rise

Taylor Russell


Zack Gottesagen


Olivia Wilde

End of a Decade Awards Recipients

Actor of the Decade

Adam Driver

Actress of the Decade

Kristen Stewart

Director of the Decade

Denis Villeneuve

Producer of the Decade

Daniela Taplin Lundberg

Next Generation of Hollywood

Kelvin Harrison Jr.

Geraldine Viswanathan

Brooklynn Prince

Millicent Simmonds

Mckenna Grace

Jack Dylan Grazer

Thomasin McKenzie

Zoey Deutch

Noah Jupe

Kaitlyn Dever

Lana Condor

Shahadi Wright Joseph

Olivia Wilde
Olivia Wilde poured breast milk on her head for the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Reuters