For the third year in a row, Dwight Howard will receive the Defensive Player of the Year award.

The Orlando Magic big man joins Pistons' veteran Ben Wallace and former Denver Nuggets' center Dikembe Mutombo as the only players to win the award at least three times since the NBA began handing out the honor after the 1982-83 season.

Wallace is the only player to win it four times.

Howard, 25, averaged 2.4 blocks per game, and is known for his intimidating presence. He beat out notable defensive stars Chris Paul, Serge Ibaka, and Rajon Rondo.

Howard is also in the running for the Most Valuable Player award, but that will likely go to Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls.