• "Nomadland" took home six trophies at the Alliance of Women in Film Journalists Awards, including best film
  • Frances McDormand and Chadwick Boseman won best actor and actress, respectively
  • "Nomadland" helmer Chloe Zhao took home the best director trophy

Chloe Zhao's critically-acclaimed "Nomadland" is already racking up honors ahead of the announcement of the 2021 Oscar nominations as the movie emerged victorious in six categories, including best film, at this year's Alliance of Women Film Journalists Awards.

This year's event saw Zhao taking home three individual trophies, including best director, Variety reported. The Chinese director faced stiff competition from directors such as Aaron Sorkin ("Trial of the Chicago 7"), Regina King ("One Night In Miami"), Kelly Reichardt ("First Cow") and Emerald Fennell ("Promising Young Woman").

She also took home accolades in the adapted screenplay and editing categories.

On the other hand, Frances McDormand is inching toward her third Oscar as she took the best actress award at the 2020 AWFJ awards. This is McDormand's fifth victory this year, edging out Viola Davis ("Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"), Vanessa Kirby ("Pieces of a Woman") and Carey Mulligan ("Promising Young Woman") to win the accolade.

Chadwick Boseman won the best actor trophy posthumously for his impeccable acting in "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom."

Leslie Odom Jr. ("One Night In Miami") and Yuh-Jung Youn ("Minari") won the awards in the supporting actor and actress categories, respectively.

Other notable winners included "Soul" (best animated feature), Joshua James (cinematography, "Nomadland") and "Another Round" (best non-English-language film).

Here's the list of winners:

Best Film

“Minari” (A24)

“Never Rarely Sometimes Always” (Focus Features)

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – WINNER

“One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)

“Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)

“The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)

Best Director

EmeraldFennell, “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)

Regina King, “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)

Kelly Reichardt, “First Cow” (A24)

Aaron Sorkin, “The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)

Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – WINNER

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)

Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix) – WINNER

Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)

Best Actress

Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)

Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman” (Netflix)

Frances McDormand, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – WINNER

Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Sacha Baron Cohen, “The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)

Bill Murray, “On the Rocks” (A24/Apple TV Plus)

Leslie Odom Jr, “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – WINNER

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm” (Amazon Studios)

Ellen Burstyn, “Pieces of a Woman” (Netflix)

Amanda Seyfried, “Mank” (Netflix)

Yuh-Jung Youn, “Minari” (A24) – WINNER

Best Screenplay, Original

“Mank” (Netflix) – Jack Fincher

“Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features) – Emerald Fennell – WINNER

"The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix) – Aaron Sorkin

Best Screenplay, Adapted

"First Cow” (A24) – Kelly Reichardt and Jonathan Raymond

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Chloé Zhao – WINNER

“One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Kemp Powers

Best Animated Film

"Over the Moon” (Netflix)

“Soul” (Pixar) – WINNER

“Wolfwalkers” (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)

Best Cinematography

“Mank” (Netflix) – Erik Messerschmidt

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Joshua James Richards – WINNER

“One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Tami Reiker

Best Editing

“One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Tariq Anwar

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Chloé Zhao – WINNER

“The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix) – Alan Baumgarten

Best Documentary

“All In: The Fight for Democracy” (Amazon Studios) – WINNER (tie)

“Athlete A” (Netflix)

“Crip Camp” (Netflix)

“The Painter and the Thief” (Neon) – WINNER (tie)

“Time” (Amazon Studios)

Best Non-English-Language Film

“Another Round” – Denmark – WINNER

“Beanpole” – Russia

“The Mole Agent” – Chile

“The Painted Bird” – Czech Republic

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

“Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix) – Kim Coleman

“One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Kimberly Hardin – WINNER (tie)

“The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix) – Francine Maisler – WINNER (tie)

1. "Nomadland" (directed by Chloe Zhao) - Zhao's idea of immersing herself in a rural American subculture seems to have done wonders for the filmmaker. "Nomadland" follows the story of a woman named Fern (played by Frances McDormand) who has lost everything during the Great Recession. Fern embarks on a journey and starts living as a modern-day nomad. The film makes you strongly empathize with its characters and manages to encourage viewers to consider a nomadic life. McDormand is pure genius and blends into her character so well that viewers don't feel like they are watching a fictional character on the screen. The movie is a masterclass in the art of filmmaking and all its aspects.  Nomadland/ Searchlight Pictures