Privacy advocates have scored a victory as the curious social feed on Venmo is on its way out. PayPal, the owner of Venmo, announced Tuesday that it will get rid of the feature as part of a major redesign. 

“With the new design, we’ve made it even easier for customers to discover Venmo’s new features and capabilities. Customers will see a new bottom navigation when they open the app, allowing them to seamlessly toggle between their social feed, Venmo products, and their personal profile,” reads the announcement on its website.

The mobile payment app did say it will not be getting rid of the feature altogether. Transactions will still be available to be seen between friends, explaining that this has always been a part of its core.

“Venmo has always been social at its core, designed to be a place where friends can split and share payments and experiences,” the post said.

A privacy upgraded was expected. In May 2018, PayPal settled with the Federal Trade Commission over disclosure, privacy, and security practices.

Venmo explained why a rebrand was necessary. "The Venmo community has grown to more than 70 million customers, so this change allows customers to connect and share meaningful moments and experiences with the people who matter most,” the post read.

The new change will allow for an option to be chosen if users want their profile to appear on a friend’s feed or be hidden.