One Direction
One Direction is seen during its days as a five-member group. From left are Liam Payne, Niall Horan, Louis Tomlinson, Zayn Malik and Harry Styles. Reuters

Hold your breath, Directioners, as you will find it extremely difficult to vote for one particular category in the 2015 Teen Choice Awards. This time its One Direction vs. Zayn Malik. Yes, you heard it right: Malik, the former member of One Direction, will now compete against the British group in the Fashion Choice Male Hottie category.

Malik, who left One Direction in March, is pitched against Harry Styles, Liam Payne, Niall Horan and Louis Tomlinson. The Teen Choice Awards marks the first awards show where Malik and One Direction are up for the same award. It will also be the first time that Malik and One Direction are expected to walk the same red carpet, albeit separately. Other males nominated for the same category include the group 5 Seconds of Summer, Ryan Guzman, Justin Bieber and Austin Mahone, writes People.

One Direction, now a four-member group, is also nominated in the Choice Music Group: Male and Choice Song: Group categories.

Malik said he left the group because he wanted to lead a life of a “normal 22-year-old.” He is reportedly recording some fresh music with rapper-producer Naughty Boy but he still loves his former groupmates. During the 2015 Asian Awards, Malik thanked his former group and called them the "four of the best guys that I ever met." During his previous interviews he added that he will always remain friends with them throughout his life.

Meanwhile, Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Australian rapper Iggy Azalea each earned three nominations in the music category for females in the Teen Choice Awards. Singers Selena Gomez, Demi Lovato and Rihanna are also nominated for Choice Female Artist.

Nominees for Choice Male Artist include Ed Sheeran, Nick Jonas, Sam Smith, Shawn Mendes, Jason DeRulo and Pitbull. Most nominations have been bagged by Fifth Harmony, One Direction and 5 Seconds of Summer. The Teen Choice Awards will air live at 8 p.m. EDT Aug. 16 on Fox. Fans can vote for their favorite artists beginning at noon PDT Wednesday on this website.