Facebook can now alert its users when a photo that includes them is uploaded to deter. Facebook says that it’s using facial recognition technology to make this new feature possible.

“Today we’re announcing new, optional tools to help people better manage their identity on Facebook using face recognition,” Facebooks said. “Powered by the same technology we’ve used to suggest friends you may want to tag in photos or videos, these new features help you find photos that you’re not tagged in and help you detect when others might be attempting to use your image as their profile picture.”

When a photo is uploaded to Facebook that includes the user, the user will be alerted that a photo that includes them has been uploaded. An alert or notification will only be sent to the user if they are part of the audience (Public, Friends only, etc.) for that post. Users will also be alerted even if they aren’t tagged in the photo.

Once users are alerted that a photo of them has been uploaded to Facebook, they will have some control over it. For example, a user may be able to either tag themselves in the photo or simply ignore it and leave it untagged. An alert will also inform the user who uploaded the photo to Facebook. This makes it easier and faster for users to reach out to their friends to ask them to take it down or express their other concerns about the image.

Facebook will send users an alert if a photo that includes them is uploaded to Facebook even if they're not tagged in the photo.

Facebook says that it will soon use the same facial recognition technology to alert users when someone else uploads a photo of them as their profile picture. Facebook says that it’s part of its efforts to prevent people from impersonating others on the social network.

With Facebook expanding the capabilities of its facial recognition system, it’s natural that some people may feel uncomfortable with it or may have concerns with privacy. This is also why Facebook is making it simple to opt-out of this new feature.

“People gave us feedback that they would find it easier to manage face recognition through a simple setting, so we’re pairing these tools with a single ‘on/off’ control,” the company said. “If your tag suggestions setting is currently set to ‘none,’ then your default face recognition setting will be set to ‘off’ and will remain that way until you decide to change it.”

The toggle to opt-in or opt-out of the new feature will be available on the Facebook app soon. Unfortunately, Facebook didn’t say when it will appear on its app. The new Facebook feature will be available to all users, but not in Canada or in the EU where Facebook’s facial recognition technology isn’t available, according to Android Police.