rhodes scholarship
A group of graduates gather outside the Sheldonian Theatre to have their photograph taken after a graduation ceremony at Oxford University, Oxford, England, May 28, 2011. REUTERS/Paul Hackett

The Rhodes Trust on Saturday released a list of 32 students chosen to represent the United States as Rhodes Scholars for 2017.

The Rhodes Scholarships, referred to as “the oldest and best known award for international study, and arguably the most famous academic award available to American college graduates,” by the American Secretary of the trust Elliot F. Gerson, provide all expenses for two or three years of study at the University of Oxford in England.

Created in 1902 by British philanthropist the Will of Cecil Rhodes, the first class of American Rhodes Scholars entered Oxford in 1904.

The recipients of the scholarship are chosen in a two-stage process — endorsement by a college or university and personal interviews. This year about 2,500 students sought endorsements out of which 882 were endorsed by 311 different colleges and universities. The strongest applicants are then invited to appear before Committees of Selection in 16 U.S. districts for the interview.

Some renowned Rhodes scholars are the former Governor of Louisiana Bobby Jindal, Grammy winner Kris Kristofferson, MSNBC host Rachel Maddow — who was also the first openly gay American to win the scholarship and U.S. National Security Advisor Susan Rice.

Here is a list of the students chosen as Rhodes scholars:

District 1:

Joshua B. Pickar, University of Chicago Law School and The George Washington University

Maia Silber, Harvard University

District 2:

Sarah A. Waltcher, Dartmouth College

Laura A. Courchesne, University of Georgia

District 3:

Nancy Ko, Harvard University

Noah Remnick, Yale University

District 4:

Spencer D. Dunleavy, Harvard University

Meghan M. Shea, Stanford University

District 5:

Cameron D. Clarke, Howard University

Aryn A. Frazier, University of Virginia

District 6:

James C. Pavur, Georgetown University

Jory M. Fleming, University of South Carolina

District 7:

Lucinda M. Ford, United States Naval Academy

Christian E. Nattiel, United States Military Academy

District 8:

Kirk P. Smith, University of Tulsa

Mikaila V. Smith, University of Texas at Austin

District 9:

Morgan K. Mohr, Indiana University

Christa Grace Watkins, University of Notre Dame

District 10:

Olivia A. Klevorn, Yale University

Pasquale S. Toscano, Washington and Lee University

District 11:

Aaron C. Robertson, Princeton University

Ahmed M. Ahmed, Cornell University

District 12:

Lauren C. Jackson, University of Virginia

Shegufta A. Huma, University of Kansas

District 13:

Hannah K. Carrese, Yale University

Joshua Carter, Montana State University

District 14:

Pema McLaughlin, Reed College

Anthony Wilder L. Wohns, Harvard University

District 15:

Oscar De Los Santos, University of Southern California

Alexis A. Doyle, University of Notre Dame

District 16:

Nicole A. Mihelson, Johns Hopkins University

Caylin L. Moore, Texas Christian University