Military personnel open a giant American flag before the Indianapolis 500 auto race in Indianapolis
Military personnel open a giant American flag before the 100th anniversary of Indianapolis 500 auto race in Indianapolis, Indiana May 29, 2011. Reuters

Flag Day is celebrated on June 14 and honors the adoption of the flag of the United States. However, it's not a federal holiday.

In 1916, President Woodrow Wilson issued a proclamation that established June 14 as the date. In 1949, National Flag Day was established by an Act of Congress.

The first American flag was introduced on June 14, 1777 by the Continental Congress.

No one really knows exactly who designed the first stars and stripes flag or who produced the flag itself.

However, it is most likely that Congressman Francis Hopkinson, who also worked on the Unites States Seal and other artistic projects for the country, designed it. A few historians think that Betsy Ross, a Philadelphia seamstress, made the first one.

The national flag of the United States of America consists of thirteen equal horizontal stripes of red alternating with white, with a blue rectangle in the canton bearing fifty small, white, five-pointed stars arranged in nine offset horizontal rows of six stars alternating with rows of five stars.

The design of the flag has been changed 26 times since it was first adopted in 1777. The 48-star version did not change for 47 years until the 49-star version became official on July 4, 1959. The 50 star flag was introduced on August 21, 1959.

Nicknames for the flag include the Stars and Stripes, Old Glory, and The Star-Spangled Banner.

Many Americans honor Flag Day by displaying the American Flag at their home, office, or at public buildings.