• "Genshin Impact" Update 2.0 is now live 
  • miHoYo revealed its plan to release three more countries in the game
  • The title will get post-launch support in the next four years

"Genshin Impact" has been a huge success since it was launched in September last year and it appears that Chinese gaming studio miHoYo is relentless in rolling out more exciting content for the game, but there's a catch.

The game has received a boatload of content, including new characters in almost every update and new region. During a recent Game Developers Conference (GDC) panel, miHoYo revealed that it plans to expand the game further by rolling out more regions. Unfortunately, this said content will not be launched in one go.

It appears that miHoYo wants to introduce it in the game gradually. In a report from Famitsu, the game developer noted it would release the additional regions over the next four years until all of the seven nations are playable in the game. During the event, miHoYo CEO Haoyu Cai mentioned that while the game has been online since last year, the team is "still developing future content."

Character Demo - "Kamisato Ayaka: Camellia in Winter Snow" | Genshin Impact
Although Ayaka has long since mastered the Kamisato Art Tachi Jutsu, she continues to persevere in her practice. YouTube Screenshot/Genshin Impact Official YouTube Channel

"We just finished the three nations [out of] seven, and the third one, Inazuma hasn't been updated yet. It will take us another four years to finish all the seven nations in Teyvat," the CEO explained.

The GDC 2021 panel also underlined that the conceptualization of all seven continents happened early in the game's development.

The developer talked about the challenges it encountered while developing the art style of the regions, which would dictate the overall look of the in-game world. It also discussed the process of rendering environments, including blending layers at the GDC panel, as well as the methods used in incorporating clouds into the game's environment.

So far, "Genshin Impact" has three major nations: Mondstadt, Liyue and the recently launched Inazuma. The developer is planning to roll out Natlan, Fontaine and Sumeru over the next four years.

Meanwhile, Update 2.0 is now live in the game and it introduces some parts of the new nation of Inazuma. "Genshin Impact" will also introduce its first-ever cross-over character from "Horizon Zero Dawn" and "Horizon Forbidden West" in Update 2.1.

The hit gacha game is now available on various gaming platforms, including PC, PlayStation 4, PS5, iOS and Android devices.