Golden Globes 2016 nominations
Actors (from left to right) Angela Bassett, Chloë Grace Moretz, America Ferrera and Dennis Quaid announced the 2016 Golden Globes nominees Thursday, Dec. 10 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in California. Getty Images

The Golden Globes 2016 nominations are in! Angela Bassett, Chloë Grace Moretz, America Ferrera and Dennis Quaid made the announcement Thursday from the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The annual awards show, which takes place Jan. 10, 2016 at the Beverly Hilton, recognizes the best in film and television. This year’s nominees include Amy Schumer's romantic comedy "Trainwreck" for Best Motion Picture, Comedy and "Mad Max: Fury Road" for Best Motion Picture, Drama.

Lee Daniels' Fox hit "Empire" will battle it out for Best TV Series, Drama against "Game of Thrones" and "Outlander." Ryan Murphy's anthology series "American Horror Story: Hotel" is up for Best TV Limited Series or Motional, while Lady Gaga snagged a Golden Globe nomination for Best Actress in a Limited TV Series for her role in the FX horror series. The singer is up against other stars like Queen Latifah ("Bessie") and Felicity Huffman ("American Crime").

Other notable mentions include Taraji P. Henson's Best Actress TV, Drama nomination for her role as Cookie Lyon in "Empire" and Kate Winslet's Best Supporting Actress nomination for her role in "Steve Jobs."

The highly-buzzed about movie "The Danish Girl" also received recognition. Eddie Redmayne, who played transgender artist Lili Elbe, is nominated for Best Actor in a Drama, while his co-star Alicia Vikander is up for Best Actress in a Drama for her role as Gerda Wegener.

Click HERE to see the full list of nominees.

Comedian and actor Ricky Gervais is set to host the 73rd Annual Golden Globes, taking over for veteran hosts Amy Poehler and Tina Fey. As the nominations were announced Thursday morning, several celebrities took to Twitter to share their thoughts, opinions and reactions. Check them out below.

The 73rd Annual Golden Globes airs Sunday Jan. 10, 2016 at 8 p.m. EST on NBC.