Garbage headlined a sold-out show at Terminal 5 in New York on March 22. With its first new album in eight years -- “Not Your Kind of People,” which dropped last year -- Garbage returned to New York to an adoring audience, mixing new songs and old favorites.

The resurgent 1990s nostalgia, with acts such as Soundgarden, No Doubt and Bush not only touring but also releasing new albums, Garbage's new album and extensive touring may seem like a crass cash grab. But, in fact, Garbage chose to create a new album without the help of a major label, releasing “Not Your Kind of People” on its own record label. The new songs on the album work well within Garbage's catalog, and, while much of Friday's set featured songs from its self-titled debut and “Version 2.0,” last year's album got plenty of attention as well.

Despite some apologies about technical difficulties during the first few songs of the set, Shirley Manson, Duke Erikson, Steve Marker and Butch Vig reset the clock on Friday at Terminal 5. The members of Garbage are rock veterans, in the best sense of the word, displaying an effortless talent to command the stage, with Manson consistently being at the center of the action.

Much as they did in New Jersey two nights earlier, Garbage performed its cover of “Because the Night” with the help of Screaming Females lead singer Marissa Paternoster. You can listen to some of the songs Garbage played at Terminal 5 below.

Garbage at Terminal 5, Set List, Friday, March 22, 2013:

  • Push It
  • Queer
  • Automatic Systematic Habit
  • Hammering in My Head
  • Blood for Poppies
  • Special
  • Why Do You Love Me
  • #1 Crush
  • I Think I'm Paranoid
  • The One
  • The Trick Is to Keep Breathing
  • Control
  • Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go)
  • Cup of Coffee
  • Stupid Girl
  • Only Happy When It Rains
  • Vow
  • Beloved Freak
  • Encore: Because the Night (with Marissa Paternoster)
  • When I Grow Up
  • You Look So Fine
  • Thank You Honey Bun (Duke Erikson)