• Millions of Americans are under winter weather alerts
  • 'Heavy ice accumulation' is expected from Texas through the Ohio River Valley
  • Grand Forks in North Dakota will experience 'dangerous cold' through Thursday, says the NWS

The U.S. is experiencing what the National Weather Service (NWS) refers to as a “large-scale winter storm” that will affect Southern, Eastern, and Central U.S. through Friday, putting more than 109 million people under winter weather alerts.

On its website, the NWS has warned of the “massive winter storm” that is expected to sweep large swaths of the United States through Friday. The storm has triggered winter alerts across the country, with over 109 million people under winter precipitation alerts and more than 3.6 million others under cold temperature alerts, Axios reported.

In some areas, temperatures are expected to drop between 20 to 40 degrees below average, while outages are predicted in areas that will be hard-hit by a “damaging ice storm.” Forecasters also expect a “broader corridor of heavy ice accumulation” from Texas through the Ohio River Valley.

NWS Grand Forks, North Dakota, warned of “dangerous cold” to continue in the area through Thursday morning, “with lows hitting -25 to -35 across the region.” The agency urged residents to “bundle up” whenever they step outside. Heavy snow is projected for the southern Rockies to northern New England.

The NWS has listed a number of states with areas under Winter Storm Warnings until Thursday, with several areas under alerts through Friday:

A Winter Storm Warning has been issued for the following areas:

  • El Paso and Fort Worth, Texas
  • Santa Teresa, New Mexico
  • Kansas City and Pleasant Hill, Missouri
  • Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Houston and Galveston, Texas
  • Gray and Caribou, Maine
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Northern Indiana
  • Albany, New York State
  • State College, Pennsylvania
  • Binghamton, New York State
  • Memphis, Tennessee
  • Jackson, Kentucky
  • Charleston, West Virginia
  • Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Wilmington, Ohio
  • Cleveland, Ohio
  • Chicago, Illinois
  • Topeka, Kansas
  • Lincoln, Illinois
  • Wichita, Kansas
  • Austin and San Antonio, Texas
  • Norman, Oklahoma
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Buffalo, New York State
  • Detroit and Pontiac, Michigan
  • Grand Rapids, Michigan

The areas that have been placed under Blizzard Warning are:

  • Anchorage, Alaska
  • Midland and Odessa, Texas

The following states have areas under Ice Storm Warning:

  • Memphis and Nashville, Tennessee
  • Jackson, Mississippi
  • Paducah and Louisville, Kentucky
    The US Capitol dome during a snowstorm in Washington, DC, on January 16, 2022
    The US Capitol dome during a snowstorm in Washington, DC, on January 16, 2022 AFP / Stefani Reynolds