There will be plenty at stake for the contestants in the first episode of “The Challenge: War of the Worlds.” The 33rd season of the reality-TV series premieres at 9 p.m. EST on MTV Wednesday night with 34 competitors trying to win a grand prize of $1 million.

Each season of “The Challenge” offers different twists, so it’s unknown exactly how many players will end up sharing the prize money. It could be a team of two that takes home $500,000 each. The season might end with just one contestant winning all of the money for themselves.

That’s exactly what happened just a few months ago at the conclusion of “The Challenge: Final Reckoning.” The team of Ashley Mitchell and Hunter Barfield finished in first place, but Ashley was given the chance to take the entire $1 million grand prize for herself because of her performance in the final.

Ashley took all of the money and left Hunter with nothing, just as Johnny “Bananas” Devenanzio had done a few seasons prior on “Rivals III.” Bananas decided not to split the $275,000 grand prize with teammate Sarah Patterson in the finale of the show’s 28th season.

Johnny Bananas MTV Challenge
Johnny “Bananas” Devenanzio has won MTV's "The Challenge" a record six times. MTV

Both Ashley and Bananas, who have won the most prize money in “Challenge” history, are back competing on “War of the Worlds.” Cara Maria Sorbello is third on that list and a member of the 33rd season. Chris “CT” Tamburello and Wes Bergmann are also among the 16 “Challenge” veterans that are part of the cast.

“War of the Worlds” will feature 18 newcomers. They’ve appeared on shows such as “Ex on the Beach,” “Big Brother, “The Bachelorette,” and “Party Down South.”

Cara Maria took home nearly $380,000 as the sole winner of “Vendettas” in the show’s 31st season. Jordan Wiseley and Camila Nakagawa won $450,000 each as the first-place finishers on “XXX: Dirty 30.”