• "The Irishman," "Once Upon A Time In Hollywood" lead the nominations at the Online Film Critics Society awards.
  • Scorsese's epic crime drama has been nominated for 8 trophies while Tarantino's movie got 7 nods
  • Florence Pugh is the only actress to nominated in Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress category

Martin Scorsese’s latest directorial venture “The Irishman” is creating all the right buzz before the nominees for the 92nd Academy Awards are revealed in January. The epic crime drama leads the Online Film Critics Society awards with eight nominations while Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” came second with seven noms.

According to the organization, Scorsese’s latest movie starring Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, and Joe Pesci has been nominated in almost all the major categories, including Best Picture. The other nominees in this category include “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood,” “Marriage Story,” “Jojo Rabbit,” “Uncut Gems,” “Knives Out,” “1917,” “Portrait Of A Lady On Fire,” “Parasite,” and “Us.”

Pacino, De Niro, and Pesci have all received acting nods for their stellar work in the movie. De Niro has been nominated in the Best Actor category with the likes of Adam Driver, Adam Sandler, Joaquin Phoenix, and Antonio Banderas.

On the other, the “Raging Bull” director also garnered a Best Director nod and will battle it out against Tarantino, Bong Joon-Ho, Sam Mendes, and Celine Sciamma for the trophy.

The next most nominated movie was Tarantino’s “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” with 7 nods, including Best Director nod for the “Django Unchained” helmer. Brad Pitt has also been included in the group of actors competing for the Best Supporting Actor accolade. The other actors nominated in this category are Pacino, Pesci, Willem Dafoe, and Song Kang-Ho.

Meanwhile, Scarlett Johansson has received a Best Actress nod for her impeccable acting skills Noah Bambach’s “Marriage Story.” The actress will get a stiff competition from fellow actresses like Lupita Nyong’O, Awkwafina, Florence Pugh, and Renee Zellweger.

Meanwhile, Pugh will also be up for the Best Supporting Actress award during the ceremony. Laura Dern, Jennifer Lopez, Margot Robbie and Shuzhen Zao are also nominated.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Best Picture

“The Irishman”
“Jojo Rabbit”
“Knives Out”
“Marriage Story”
“Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”
“Portrait of a Lady on Fire”
“Uncut Gems”

Best Director

Bong Joon-ho – “Parasite”
Sam Mendes – “1917”
Celine Sciamma – “Portrait Of A Lady On Fire”
Martin Scorsese – “The Irishman”
Quentin Tarantino – “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”

Best Actor

Antonio Banderas – “Pain and Glory”
Robert De Niro – “The Irishman”
Adam Driver – “Marriage Story”
Joaquin Phoenix – “Joker”
Adam Sandler – “Uncut Gems”

Best Actress

Awkwafina – “The Farewell”
Scarlett Johansson – “Marriage Story”
Lupita Nyong’o – “Us”
Florence Pugh – “Midsommar”
Renée Zellweger – “Judy”

Best Supporting Actor

Willem Dafoe – “The Lighthouse”
Al Pacino – “The Irishman”
Joe Pesci – “The Irishman”
Brad Pitt – “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”
Song Kang-ho – “Parasite”

Best Supporting Actress

Laura Dern – “Marriage Story”
Jennifer Lopez – “Hustlers”
Florence Pugh – “Little Women”
Margot Robbie – “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”
Shuzhen Zhao – “The Farewell”

Best Original Screenplay

“Knives Out” – Rian Johnson
“Marriage Story” – Noah Baumbach
“Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” – Quentin Tarantino
“Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won
“Us” – Jordan Peele

Best Adapted Screenplay

“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood” – Micah Fitzerman-Blue, Noah Harpster
“Hustlers” – Lorene Scafaria
“The Irishman” – Steven Zaillian
“Jojo Rabbit” – Taika Waititi
“Little Women” – Greta Gerwig

Best Editing

“Ford v Ferrari” – Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker
“The Irishman” – Thelma Schoonmaker
“1917” – Lee Smith
“Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” – Fred Raskin
“Parasite” – Jinmo Yang

Best Cinematography

“The Irishman” – Rodrigo Prieto
“The Lighthouse” – Jarin Blaschke
“1917” – Roger Deakins
“Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” – Robert Richardson
“Portrait Of A Lady On Fire” – Claire Mathon

Best Original Score

“Joker” – Hildur Guðnadóttir
“Little Women” – Alexandre Desplat
“Marriage Story” – Randy Newman
“1917” – Thomas Newman
“Us” – Michael Abels

Best Debut Feature

Mati Diop – “Atlantics”
Melina Matsoukas – “Queen & Slim”
Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz – “The Peanut Butter Falcon”
Joe Talbot – “The Last Black Man In San Francisco”
Olivia Wilde – “Booksmart”

Best Film Not In The English Language

“Pain And Glory”
“Portrait Of A Lady On Fire”

the irishman
Joe Pesci, Robert De Niro, and Al Pacino in the movie poster for "The Irishman." Netflix