star wars episode 7
The 7th iteration of the "Star Wars" saga has its official title. "Episode VII" is now officially, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens." Fans will inevitably refer to it now as TFA for short. Lucasfilm / Walt Disney Studios

The next “Star Wars” film finally has its subtitle. “Episode VII” will be called “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” Lucasfilm and Walt Disney Studios made the announcement following the completion of principal photography on the film.

Directed by J.J. Abrams, “Episode VII: The Force Awakens” is bringing back much of the cast from the original trilogy, as well as a number of new actors. Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia Organa), Harrison Ford (Han Solo) and Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker) are all returning for a new trilogy, nearly 40 years older than when they filmed their career-making hits.

Each film in the new sequel saga will be interspersed with a solo adventure with one of the characters from George Lucas’ films. Recent reports have said Ewan McGregor could return as Obi-Wan Kenobi for an entire trilogy, while earlier rumors pegged Yoda, Boba Fett and Han Solo as potential lead characters.

“Star Wars: Episode VII” or “The Force Awakens” is scheduled for release on Dec. 18, 2015. Kenny Baker, Anthony Daniels and Peter Mayhew are all set to return, joining a large new ensemble including John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Lupita Nyong'o and Gwendoline Christie.

A number of Twitter users reacted to the announcement. Many were less than enthusiastic about the new title and cynically pondered the next series.