Weezer will release a new self-titled album, which is being referred to as "The White Album" on April 1. Pictured here is the band, Rivers Cuomo (left), drummer Patrick Wilson (middle) and Scott Shriner (right) performing on Dec. 12, 2015 in Los Angeles. Getty

Weezer not only surprised fans with a new song called "King of the World" on Friday, but the band announced that they are going to be releasing their 10th studio album. The album will be self-titled and referred to as "The White Album."

Weezer made fans happy when they released "Everything Will Be Alright In The End" in October 2014. The album was the band's best release in years and Weezer returned to the rock sound people have come to love about them. Weezer — lead singer River Cuomo, drummer Patrick Wilson, guitarist Brian Bell and bass player Scott Shriner — is hoping to building on the momentum they created in 2014 with "The White Album."

To build on the success, the band made the wise choice of making the album self-titled. Whenever Weezer goes down the road of naming their new album after the band it usually works out well for them. While "The White Album" will the band's fourth self-titled album, the first three — "The Blue Album," "The Green Album" and "The Red Album" — are among some Weezer's best albums, featuring many of their biggest songs, like "Buddy Holly," "Island in the Sun," "Say It Ain't So" and "Pork and Beans."

While announcing the new album, the band also released the full track listing of the record. There will be 10 new songs on "The White Album," including the three tracks they've released so far, "King of the World," "Do You Wanna Get High" and "Thank God for Girls." The listing can be seen below:

  • Track 1 - "California Kids"
  • Track 2 - "Wind in Our Sail"
  • Track 3 - "Thank God for Girls"
  • Track 4 - "(Girl We Got a) Good Thing"
  • Track 5 - "Do You Wanna Get High?"
  • Track 6 - "King of the World"
  • Track 7 - "Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori"
  • Track 8 - "L.A. Girlz"
  • Track 9 - "Jacked Up"
  • Track 10 - "Endless Bummer"

Each of the tracks will have interesting lyrics. Cuomo also told Pitchfork, he loves the "demented" lyrics that will be found on "The White Album." "I'm proud of the demented lyrics that are like, 'What? Who says that? Who thinks that? What planet on am I on? I don't know, but I kinda wanna stay!' Welcome to our planet, people!" Cuomo said.

To look for inspiration for writing the record, the band turned to the place where they grew up. Weezer formed as a band in Los Angeles in 1992. Going into their 10th studio album, the band really wanted to capture the atmosphere of their home state to allow the listener to feel like they were hanging out with them in California.

"I wanted the album to have a Beach Boys sort of vibe to make you feel like you were there with us SoCal weirdos even if you’re in Milwaukee in December," Cuomo wrote on the band's website.

One of Cuomo's favorite bands is the Beach Boys and created the album based on the music they used to make. The lead singer told Pitchfork he loves everything about the Beach Boys from their lyrics to the chords and he wanted to capture that beach theme for the upcoming record.

"I wanted to get that kind of vibe: beautiful tunes and sweet lyrics. I also love the dark side of the beach," he dished.

To support the new album, the band will be heading out on a US summer tour with Panic! At The Disco and Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness from June 10 through Aug. 6. Tickets for the tour go on sale on Jan. 19 through the pre-sale, while general tickets will be available Jan. 22 at 10 a.m. You can see the tour dates here.

Weezer announced "The White Album" will be released on April 1. You can preorder the album here and instantly get three new songs.

Listen to Weezer's new song "King of the World"