Clayton Kershaw
The Dodgers are the favorites to win the 2013 World Series. Reuters

The 2013 World Series is over with the Boston Red Sox beating the St. Louis Cardinals in six games, but there are already thoughts about next season as betting odds have been released for next season’s title contenders.

While the Red Sox and Cardinals are expected to remain elite teams in 2014, neither are the frontrunners to return to the World Series. Instead, the two teams that fell short of the advancing to the Fall Classic are expected to advance.

The Los Angeles Dodgers, who fell to the Cardinals in the National League Championship Series in six games, are the favorites to win it all. The Dodgers are expected to be a top contender with a strong pitching staff that includes Clayton Kershaw, Zack Greinke, and closer Kenley Jansen. The Dodgers also hope to bring back a healthy Matt Kemp, who missed the postseason with an injury. The last time Los Angeles went to the World Series was 1988, when the Dodgers defeated the Oakland A’s behind a historic home run from Kirk Gibson in Game One.

The Detroit Tigers are favored to come out of the American League after falling to the Red Sox in six. The Tigers finished the 2013 season with the 10th best earned-run average, but boasted four quality starters for a playoff run with Justin Verlander, Max Scherzer, Anibal Sanchez, and Doug Fister. The Tigers went to the World Series in 2012 and 2006, but have not won it since 1984. Coincidentally, Gibson was on the roster for the Tigers on that 1984 squad.

The Washington Nationals have the third best chance win the World Series, and are followed by the Cardinals, and Red Sox. Boston’s chances of repeating are 12-1.

Here is a complete list of the Las Vegas betting odds:

Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1

Detroit Tigers 8-1

Washington Nationals 9-1

St. Louis Cardinals 10-1

Boston Red Sox 12-1

Cincinnati Reds 15-1

Los Angeles Angels 15-1

Oakland Athletics 15-1

New York Yankees 16-1

Texas Rangers 16-1

Atlanta Braves 17-1

San Francisco Giants 22-1

Pittsburgh Pirates 25-1

Baltimore Orioles 28-1

Cleveland Indians 28-1

Tampa Bay Rays 29-1

Kansas City Royals 35-1

Chicago White Sox 40-1

Philadelphia Phillies 40-1

Arizona Diamondbacks 45-1

Toronto Blue Jays 45-1

Chicago Cubs 60-1

Seattle Mariners 65-1

Colorado Rockies 70-1

San Diego Padres 70-1

Milwaukee Brewers 75-1

New York Mets 115-1

Miami Marlins 125-1

Minnesota Twins 125-1

Houston Astros 250-1

An IB Times staff reporter contributed to this report.