John Cena Nikki Bella
Nikki Bella and John Cena both competed at WWE No Mercy 2016. Pictured: Nikki Bella and John Cena attend the “Sisters” premiere at Ziegfeld Theater on Dec. 8, 2015 in New York City. Getty

Even without any wrestlers from “Monday Night Raw,” WWE had one of its most entertaining pay-per-views of the year on Sunday with WWE No Mercy 2016. It was the second PPV featuring only “SmackDown” performers, and it did not disappoint.

Because Sunday’s presidential debate started an hour after No Mercy began, the main event kicked off the show for the first time in WWE history. AJ Styles put his WWE World Championship on the line against both Dean Ambrose and John Cena, who he faced separately in his last two PPV matches.

Dolph Ziggler faced The Miz for the Intercontinental Championship, though there was more than just the title at stake. The rules of the match stipulated that Ziggler would have to retire if he could not beat The Miz, who had beaten Ziggler in two straight championship matches.

No Mercy featured eight matches, including the pre-show. One title changed hands, and Curt Hawkins made his long-awaited WWE return, though he didn’t have a match.

WWE World Champion AJ Styles vs. Dean Ambrose vs. John Cena

Though it looked like Styles might lose the belt on multiple occasions, he left No Mercy as the WWE World Champion. Styles was forced to tap out when he found himself in Ambrose’s Calf Crusher and Cena’s STF simultaneously, but the referee determined the match should continue since there was no clear winner. Styles took advantage of the no-disqualification rules and hit Cena with two chair shots before pinning him for the win.

Winner: AJ Styles

Randy Orton vs. Bray Wyatt

It was the last match of the night, and it ended with a surprise return. After Orton set up an RKO by connecting with his patented draping DDT, the lights went out in the arena and Luke Harper appeared in the ring. Showing up for the first time in almost seven months, Harper distracted Orton enough to allow Wyatt to hit Sister Abigail’s Kiss for the win.

Winner: Bray Wyatt

Intercontinental Champion The Miz vs. Dolph Ziggler

It was the best match on the card and the one that should have closed the show. Ziggler overcame numerous obstacles, including interference by Maryse and former members of the Spirit Squad. He kicked out of a Skull-Crushing Finale, and eventually got the pinfall after hitting The Miz with a Superkick, winning the IC Title for the fifth time in his career.

Winner: Dolph Ziggler

SmackDown Tag Team Champions Heath Slater & Rhyno vs. The Usos

Perhaps Heath Slater and Rhyno will have a lengthy reign as SmackDown Tag Team Champions. Slater survived The Usos’ attempts to injure his knee, and Rhyno ended the match by nailing Jey Uso with a Spear.

Winner: Heath Slater & Rhyno

Alexa Bliss vs. Naomi

Bliss’ title match with Becky Lynch was postponed until Nov. 8 when it was disclosed that the SmackDown Women’s Champion couldn’t compete because of an undisclosed medical issue. Naomi replaced Lynch as Bliss’ opponent for the PPV, and she pulled off the upset by reversing the No.1 contender’s cross-armbreaker into a pin.

Winner: Naomi

Nikki Bella vs. Carmella

After weeks of getting attacked by Carmella, Nikki finally got her revenge. Carmella continued to target Nikki’s previously injured neck, but the veteran was able to hit her new finisher, the Rack attack 2.0, for the win.

Winner: Nikki Bella

Baron Corbin vs. Jack Swagger

Swagger defeated Corbin on “SmackDown” when it was ruled that Corbin tapped out to a Patriot Lock, though it appeared he was simply reaching for the bottom rope. He evened up the score on Sunday by hitting End of Days for the win, but only after gouging Swagger’s eyes. Their feud will likely continue over the next few weeks.

Winner: Baron Corbin

The Hype Bros & American Alpha vs. The Ascension & The Vaudevillians (Kickoff Show)

As is usually the case on the pre-show, the babyfaces were victorious. Jason Jordan and Chad Gable ended the match by hitting Grand Amplitude as WWE continues to slowly build them into the top tag team on “SmackDown.”

Winner: The Hype Bros & American Alpha