The NBA is renaming its top regular-season awards after some of its greatest players, in addition to introducing a new season-long honor. Michael Jordan, Wilt Chamberlain and Jerry West are among the Hall of Famers who will have their names on annual trophies.

The league announced Tuesday that this season's MVP will win the Michael Jordan Trophy -- one of six NBA legends to be enshrined on the annual awards.

There's also the Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy for Defensive Player of the Year and the Wilt Chamberlain Trophy for Rookie of the Year. The John Havlicek Trophy will go to the Sixth Man of the Year, and the Most Improved Player will get the George Mikan Trophy.

"Our new collection of trophies celebrates some of the greatest and most impactful players in the history of the NBA," said NBA Commissioner Adam Silver. "As we recognize the league's top performers each season, we also pay tribute to the legends who embody these prestigious awards."

Jordan won five NBA MVP awards, doing so over his final nine full seasons with the Chicago Bulls. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has the record with six MVPs, but the former Los Angeles Lakers star already has his name on the league's Social Justice Champion award. Jordan is widely viewed as the greatest basketball player in history.

Olajuwon is a two-time Defensive Player of the Year. The center was voted to either the First or Second All-Defensive Team nine times. Since blocks became an official stat in the 1973-74 season, Olajuwon is the all-time leader. He ranks ninth in steals.

Chamberlain posted the greatest rookie season in league history, one that will likely never be topped. In the 1959-60 campaign, Chamberlain led all players by averaging 37.6 points and 27.0 rebounds per game.

Mikan won five championships with the Minneapolis Lakers when the league was still in its infancy. Havlicek became a Hall of Famer by coming off the bench for the Boston Celtics during much of his career.

The Jerry West Trophy will go to the Clutch Player of the Year, a new award that will be given out for the first time in 2023. NBA head coaches will pick the nominees for the award, which will be voted on by members of the media.

"There are few greater thrills as a basketball player than coming through for your teammates and fans when they need it most," said West. "This new trophy will be awarded to the player who best delivers in those moments."

West was known for coming up big when the Lakers needed him the most. West is the only player to win the NBA Finals MVP award when his team lost the series.

1997 Air Jordan 12 Flu Game
Michael Jordan wearing 1997 Air Jordan 12 in the infamous "Flu Game" Sneaker Files