Rory McIlroy 2015
Defending PGA champion Rory McIlroy during his practice round at Whistling Straits. Getty Images

Golf’s best descended on Whistling Straits in Wisconsin for the 97th PGA Championship Thursday morning, with the top trio of No. 1 Rory McIlroy, No. 2 Jordan Spieth, and Zach Johnson highlighting the tournament’s first round.

McIlroy, the defending champion and two-time PGA-winner, returns for the first time from a serious ankle injury that forced him to sit out the British Open last month against the young player trying to steal away his top ranking, 22-year-old Spieth.

They will lineup with Johnson, who’s never finished higher than tied for third at the PGAs, at 2:20 p.m. ET from the No. 1 tee.

That will certainly be the marquee grouping in the afternoon, but in the morning Rickie Fowler, Jason Day, and Dustin Johnson will be the matchup to watch. They began the first round at 9:05 a.m. ET.

Of that group, Fowler’s played the best at the tour’s final major, finishing tied for third last year only two strokes back of McIlroy and one away from Phil Mickelson.

Tiger Woods also opened the tournament with two other previous champions, Martin Kaymer in 2010 and Keegan Bradley in 2011, starting at 9:15 a.m.

The full list of tee times is below, with all times Eastern and the tee number included.

No. 1

7:45 a.m. Chesson Hadley Rory Sabbatini Ryan Helminen

7:55 a.m. Boo Weekley Grant Sturgeon David Howell

8:05 a.m. Thomas Bjorn Austin Peters Charles Howell III

8:15 a.m. Robert Streb Russell Henley Byeong Hun An

8:25 a.m. James Morrison Ryan Palmer Charley Hoffman

8:35 a.m. Ryan Moore Thongchai Jaidee Stephen Gallacher

8:45 a.m. David Toms Mark Brooks Vijay Singh

8:55 a.m. Harris English Jamie Donaldson James Hahn

9:05 a.m. J.B. Holmes Mikko Ilonen Ross Fisher

9:15 a.m. Tony Finau Danny Lee Branden Grace

9:25 a.m. Anirban Lahiri Morgan Hoffmann Steven Young

9:35 a.m. Matt Jones Brian Cairns Matt Every

9:45 a.m. Adam Rainaud Brian Harman J.J. Henry

No. 10

7:45 a.m. Brian Gaffney David Hearn Pat Perez

7:55 a.m. Brendan Steele Johan Kok Hideki Matsuyama

8:05 a.m. John Daly Matt Dobyns Colin Montgomerie

8:15 a.m. Victor Dubuisson Matt Kuchar Charl Schwartzel

8:25 a.m. Bill Haas Sergio Garcia Louis Oosthuizen

8:35 a.m. Justin Rose Geoff Ogilvy Brandt Snedeker

8:45 a.m. Bubba Watson Jim Furyk Paul Casey

8:55 a.m. Ernie Els Lee Westwood Hunter Mahan

9:05 a.m. Rickie Fowler Jason Day Dustin Johnson

9:15 a.m. Tiger Woods Martin Kaymer Keegan Bradley

9:25 a.m. Marc Warren Francesco Molinari Gary Woodland

9:35 a.m. Tyrrell Hatton Brent Snyder Brendon Todd

9:45 a.m. Fabian Gomez Martin Laird Jeff Olson

No. 1

1 p.m. Alex Cejka Koumei Oda Bob Sowards

1:10 p.m. Kevin Chappell Ryan Kennedy Brendon de Jonge

1:20 p.m. Darren Clarke Steve Stricker Davis Love III

1:30 p.m. Justin Thomas Tommy Fleetwood Jimmy Walker

1:40 p.m. Bernd Wiesberger Shane Lowry Webb Simpson

1:50 p.m. Ian Poulter Nick Watney Joost Luiten

2 p.m. Patrick Reed Graeme McDowell Luke Donald

2:10 p.m. Brooks Koepka Adam Scott Henrik Stenson

2:20 p.m. Jordan Spieth Rory McIlroy Zach Johnson

2:30 p.m. Jason Dufner Phil Mickelson Padraig Harrington

2:40 p.m. Danny Willett John Senden Cameron Tringale

2:50 p.m. Marcel Siem Jason Bohn Omar Uresti

3 p.m. Daniel Venezio Richard Ramsay Nick Taylor

No. 10

1 p.m. Charles Frost George McNeill Emiliano Grillo

1:10 p.m. Brett Jones Chris Wood Sean O'Hair

1:20 p.m. George Coetzee Soren Kjeldsen Ben Martin

1:30 p.m. Shaun Micheel Rich Beem Y.E. Yang

1:40 p.m. Rafa Cabrera-Bello Steven Bowditch Daniel Berger

1:50 p.m. Pablo Larrazabal Camilo Villegas Kiradech Aphibarnrat

2 p.m. Cameron Smith Hiroshi Iwata Shawn Stefani

2:10 p.m. David Lingmerth Kevin Streelman Sangmoon Bae

2:20 p.m. Alexander Levy Troy Merritt Russell Knox

2:30 p.m. Miguel Angel Jimenez Tim Clark Billy Horschel

2:40 p.m. Eddie Pepperell Sean Dougherty Kevin Na

2:50 p.m. Kevin Kisner Marc Leishman Ben Polland

3 p.m. Alan Morin Andy Sullivan Scott Piercy