• Glutenull has recalled its "Goji Berries and Chocolate Cookies"
  • The vegan chocolate used in the product was found to have milk proteins
  • It may pose health risks for those with milk allergies

Canada-based Glutenull Bakery has recalled its vegan cookies as they possibly contain "undeclared milk." The company said the product may pose health risks for those with milk allergies.

The recall affects the "Glutenull Goji Berries and Chocolate Cookies" that come in net wt.11 oz/320g clear plastic containers with the UPC code 628451529132. The pastries were distributed to retail stores such as Whole Foods in Washington and Oregon, the company said in a recall notice posted on the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) website.

The vegan chocolate used in the cookies was found to contain milk proteins. This was because of a cross-contamination issue at the chocolate supplier's facility, Glutenull Bakery said.

The packaging of the pastries did not have a "may contain milk" label, which may put people with milk allergies or sensitivity at risk for a reaction if they consume it. It was marked "Vegan." According to the American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (ACAAI) explained, milk is actually one of the most common food allergens. Those allergic to cow's milk can also become allergic to milk from other animals.

"Research suggests that some types of milk proteins (casein and two proteins found in whey, alpha-lactalbumin and beta-lactalbumin) are more likely to cause serious reactions," the ACAAI noted.

Typically, a vegan diet excludes all animals and their byproducts, whether for health, ethical or environmental reasons, Healthline explained. This includes eliminating products such as eggs, honey and milk from the diet.

Those who have already bought the product can take it back to the store where they purchased it and get a full refund. The company said it did not receive any complaints related to the recall.

Glutenull Bakery now makes its own chocolate that's "vegan, gluten free, non-GMO, HAACP certified," the FDA said. This is to avoid the risk of having another cross-contamination. The company also shared a video showing how it makes its vegan chocolate using ingredients such as coconut oil, cocoa and cacao butter.

Pictured: Representative image of pastries. Pixabay