peyton manning Denver Broncos
Peyton Manning is looking to win his second Super Bowl MVP. Reuters

Millions of dollars are wagered on Super Bowl prop bets each year. One of the most popular wagers is often the game’s MVP.

In the contest between the Denver Broncos and Seattle Seahawks, quarterback Peyton Manning is the favorite to win the award. The veteran is almost guaranteed to be named the most valuable player of the 2013 season, and there’s a very good chance he’ll hold that title for Super Bowl XLVIII. sets his odds at 11/10.

No player on the Seahawks has ever played in the Super Bowl. However, they have the second and third most likely players to win the award. Both quarterback Russell Wilson and running back Marshawn Lynch have the same odds at 15/4. In the regular season, Wilson was one of the most efficient signal callers in the NFL, posting a 101.2 passer rating, while adding 539 yards on the ground. Lynch led the team with 1,257 rushing yards, scoring 17 total touchdowns.

The history of the Super Bowl indicates that Manning or Wilson is likely to be named the MVP. In 47 games, the quarterback of the winning team has won the award 26 times. The last seven games have seen six quarterbacks named MVP. That streaks started in 2007 when Manning won the award after the Indianapolis Colts beat the Chicago Bears. The future Hall of Famer completed 25-of-38 passes for 247 yards, one touchdown and one interception. Running backs have accounted for seven MVPs.

On the offensive end, a wide receiver has won the award just six times. However, if the top three candidates don’t win, a receiver is very likely to be named the game’s most valuable player. Demaryius Thomas, Wes Welker, Golden Tate and Percy Harvin come in at No.4, No.6, No.7, and No.8 on the list, respectively.

Richard Sherman is considered by many to be the best cornerback in the league, and he has the best odds of any defensive player at 25/1. The next closest defender is Earl Thomas at 50/1. Larry Brown of the Dallas Cowboys is the only cornerback to ever win the award. Safeties Jake Scott and Dexter Jackson won the MVP in 1973 and 2003.

The players with the worst odds come in at 150/1. Linebacker Danny Trevathan and safety Duke Ihenacho are at the bottom of the list.

Below are the betting odds for all the candidates to win the Super Bowl MVP, according to

Peyton Manning 11/10

Marshawn Lynch 15/4

Russell Wilson 15/4

Demaryius Thomas 20/1

Knowshon Moreno 20/1

Wes Welker 20/1

Golden Tate 25/1

Percy Harvin 25/1

Richard Sherman 25/1

Eric Decker 33/1

Julius Thomas 33/1

Doug Baldwin 40/1

Earl Thomas 50/1

Champ Bailey 66/1

Kam Chancellor 75/1

Matt Prater 75/1

Montee Ball 75/1

Steven Hauschka 75/1

Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie 100/1

Michael Bennett 100/1

Zach Miller 100/1

Danny Trevathan 150/1

Duke Ihenacho 150/1

Field (Any Other Player) 22/1